Leaf Burning, Smoke Control

Personal Situations - Problems or Solutions.

Moderator: pm2.5mary

Leaf Burning, Smoke Control

Postby Wilberforce » Tue Apr 03, 2012 9:28 pm

OPINION
Letter from Mark Mussmann
Monday, 02 April 2012 20:57

To whom it may concern:

My name is Mark Mussmann. I have been a resident of Morrison, IL, since December 2007. Growing up, my family often passed through, camped near, and visited friends in the town of Morrison. I always admired the town's ability to maintain freshness while retaining the historic nature of the area. In fact, that was one of the reasons that my wife and I relocated to the area with our family. We wanted our children to be able to grow up in the school district and enjoy the area attractions and local parks. Since moving here, my family has developed a great appreciation for the area.

One thing that does alarm me is the burning of leaves in my neighborhood and town. I cannot count the number of times that I have wanted to air out my house and open some windows on a spring day or unusually warm fall day, only to have my plans terminated by smoke from nearby leaf-burning. It is not only a nuisance, but it is also an imminent health-risk.

I am concerned about the long-term effects on the residents and our City. Many people do not know or choose to not take into account the potential hazards of leaf burning. I know an individual who is an employee of a waste management agency in a nearby community. As a result of the position they hold, they are an avid campaigner for "greener" methods for disposal of all materials. This person has also done an extensive amount of research on the health risks related to leaf burning, which [was] shared with me. I would like to have the opportunity to share this information with you.